Last Nite

In a studio filled with a fog of skunk smoke somewhere in north London –

“I’ve got a great idea for a cover. We take one of of the tracks off of that album that sort of re-invented garage rock and made every spotty teenager want to pick up a guitar again rather than a sampler or a set of decks, and . . . this is the good bit we turn it into an acid jazz, soul, dancefloor friendly groove. Won’t that blow people’s minds!!”.

That is how I like to think the conversation went during the conception of this track, although probably not.

You will either love this or hate it. I think it is as funky as fuck and make no apologies to the tight arsed indie snobs who will cry “sacrilege” and weep into their extremely expensive bottled lager.

Jumbonics – Last Nite

This entry was posted in covers, Jumbonics. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Last Nite

  1. Simon says:

    Really want to listen to this but it’s locked; asks for a password to authorise it on my computer.Meanwhile I really like The Strokes, and I think the original is great. But when he sings ‘last night’ I just want to sing Roxanne.

  2. drew says:

    Apologies Simon, don’t know what happened there, should be sorted now.btw did you get my email?

  3. Simon says:

    I hadn’t. But I just checked in spam and there it was. Bloody AOL! Much appreciated.

  4. Simon says:

    Well that works. Good version!

  5. JC says:

    Hey…..I reserve the right to be a tight arsed indie snob AND love this cover.

  6. drew says:

    Glad to here it JC, didn’t actually have you down as being tight arsed but an indie snob, well maybe but not completely as your Elton John post proved.

Leave a Reply

